Skip To Main Content

Clubs and Activities

Get involved. Join a club!

Why join a club?

  • You can meet new people.
  • You can find or build a community.
  • You can develop new skills.
  • You can work with diverse groups of people.
  • It can help boost your resume.
  • It's FUN!

See below for a current list of clubs and honor societies at GHS!

Club Sponsor Email
African American History Club Burnett aburnett@ycsd.york.va.us
Art Club Ebersole hebersole@ycsd.york.va.us
Asian Association Haigh ghaigh@ycsd.york.va.us
Aviation Club Bennett mbennett@ycsd.york.va.us
Badminton Club Archer marcher@ycsd.york.va.us
Band Kirsch/Stone DKirsch@ycsd.york.va.us
Chorus Jarrett jjarrett@ycsd.york.va.us
CHROME (Minorities in Engineering) Burnett aburnett@ycsd.york.va.us
Clay Club Paffrath cpaffrath@ycsd.york.va.us
Color Guard Kirsch DKirsch@ycsd.york.va.us
Debate Abeyouni aabeyounis@ycsd.york.va.us
DECA (Emerging Leaders and Entrepreneurs) Rolon krolon@ycsd.york.va.us
DNA (LGBTQ+) Ross/Cook aross@ycsd.york.va.us
Drama/Thespians Kreicar CKreicar@ycsd.york.va.us
ENGin Club (Volunteer w/ global English Language Learners) Montini/Montini dmontini@ycsd.york.va.us
English Honor Society Green/Dilley wgreen@ycsd.york.va.us
E-Sports Ayres cayres@ycsd.york.va.us
Fellowship of Christian Athletes Habersham/Swindler mhabersham@ycsd.york.va.us
Forensics Club (Public Speaking and Debate) Coleman scoleman@ycsd.york.va.us
French Club Ashworth sashworth@ycsd.york.va.us
French Honor Society Ashworth sashworth@ycsd.york.va.us
Future Business Leaders of America (FBLA) Rolon/Burnett/Purington krolon@ycsd.york.va.us
Gardening Club Lee/Weidlich sashworth@ycsd.york.va.us
German Club Diyakova mdiyakova@ycsd.york.va.us
German Honor Society Diyakova mdiyakova@ycsd.york.va.us
Good Morning Grafton Papas/Archer kpapas@ycsd.york.va.us
Heart Health Club Haigh/Lee ghaigh@ycsd.york.va.us
Key Club (Community Service Organization) Glover jglover@ycsd.york.va.us
Lacrosse (Boys/Girls) NEEDED NEEDED
Leadership Club Swindler cswindler@ycsd.york.va.us
Literary Magazine Ayres cayres@ycsd.york.va.us
Model UN Winant/Haigh mwinant@ycsd.york.va.us
Mu Alpha Theta (Math Honor Society) Boyd kboyd@ycsd.york.va.us
National Honor Society Logan jlogan@ycsd.york.va.us
Neuroscience Club Bennett mbennett@ycsd.york.va.us
Rho Kappa (History Honor Society) Abeyounis aabeyounis@ycsd.york.va.us
Robotics Club Stein ostein@ycsd.york.va.us
Scholastic Bowl Hamilton/McBride thamilton@ycsd.york.va.us
Science National Honor Society DeBerry cdeberry@ycsd.york.va.us
Sight and Sound Kreicar CKreicar@ycsd.york.va.us
Spanish Honor Society Coleman scoleman@ycsd.york.va.us
Student Council Association (SCA) Pearce kpearce@ycsd.york.va.us
Video Game Club Greene ggreene@ycsd.york.va.us
     
Freshman Class Sponsor Jarrett/Archer jjarrett@ycsd.york.va.us
Sophomore Class Sponsor Gwaltney/Winant cgwaltney@ycsd.york.va.us
Junior Class Sponsor Challand/Jurist mchalland@ycsd.york.va.us
Senior Class Sponsor Logan/Falk jlogan@ycsd.york.va.us

 

Interested in athletics?  Our students participate in the Bay Rivers District within the Virginia High School League.  Sports offerings include, football, cross-country, golf, girls field hockey, sideline and competition cheerleading, girls volleyball, swimming, basketball, baseball, softball, indoor track and field, tennis, track and field, and soccer.  View our GHS Athletics page here.